Guest Post Tuesday – Nick Maestas


I wash my wounds with tears of hope

I often wondered how I would mold my children as a dad. How badly could I screw it up? You go outside, throw a ball around, go camping, go to a few ballgames…and poof, you’re Superman. I never really had the opportunity to see the blueprint. But I took it upon myself to become my own architect. I looked at fatherhood as a privilege, a blessing, a once in a lifetime opportunity to show my children how to live a happy, meaningful life that others respect. Not having the tools that a father passes down to his child, I feel like I’m going about this blindly. But one thing was for certain-my children would grow up knowing their Heavenly Father.

One thing about being a dad is that you quickly realize that your plan sucks. I learned that when taking our oldest to church with us the first few times when he was still a baby. He was, and still is, a tough boy to please. We officially hold the record for the number of times our number was displayed in the church auditorium. There was one simple solution for this…quit going.

We stopped going to church because it was just simply easier for us to not go than to be interrupted 15 minutes in.

Now our little boy is 2 ½ years old and he can definitely handle it a lot better. We also have a 5 month old who is very easy when it comes to things like well…being in public. He smiles on command and is a hit with the ladies. Both of my boys would do great in a daycare situation now. But the truth is, we still haven’t gone back.

I could be a real terrible dad and blame this on my children for falling so far from God (after 5 hours in a car with them yesterday, it’d be easy to blame anything on them) but I won’t do it. Instead I will look at myself and my commitment to Him. In the time that we weren’t in church, I could have dove into the Word with my wife, worshiped with my son singing hymns with them, but I didn’t. I didn’t step up and be the spiritual leader my family needed me to be.

Now we are left wondering how we fell so far. How our sons have no idea who Jesus is. How we no longer feel the Holy Spirit dwell within us. We have time for concerts, video games, and the internet, but no time for worshipping the One who provided us with a new home, healthy boys, and a job that allows my wife to stay at home.

But how do you dig yourself out of a hole that you put yourself into? How do you get back on track when life itself gets in the way? We found ourselves in the middle of purchasing our first home, having our 2nd child, going to school full-time as well as my full-time work. How do you find time for Christ in the midst of all of the madness?

I guess we take it one Sunday at a time. We open our Bibles a little more each day. We spend a couple of minutes each night in prayer. Until one day…We find ourselves back in the loving arms of the One who was always there.

*I always end each blog with lyrics that somewhat mesh with the theme of my blog. This is from my favorite Christian band-Blindside.

All of Us

As soon as you stepped through my door,
I saw You for the first time all over again.
And time well spent seems
Lonelier than the way it used to go.

As I smell you for the first time all over again
I’ll begin to remember to be alive
So if you don’t mind
I think I’ll wear my heart on my sleeve,
‘Cause I’m tired of not being able to breathe.

All of us are searching for an open arm.
Well, it’s a shame how I curl up in the dark
When it’s the same old word giving me the spark.
All of us are searching for an open arm.
Well, it’s a shame how I curl up in the dark

I’ve felt a loss for some time
I slipped, stumbled, but fell face first
straight into your hand.
Then I hit my head on your palm
And waking up to the smell
Of tears drying up in the sand

All of us are searching for an open arm.
Well, it’s a shame how I curl up in the dark
When it’s the same old word giving me the spark.
All of us are searching for an open arm.
Well, it’s a shame how I curl up in the dark

I washed my wounds with tears of hope.
I washed my wounds with tears of hope.
I just …

 

Nick is a husband and father as well as a follower of Jesus Christ.  He has an intense love of baseball, good music, a good book, and a delicious cup of coffee.  He is an awesome guy who I have been fortunate enough to connected with and have some very real and deep conversations with.  He’s the kind of guy I hope to get to hang out with in person one day.   He strives to live out his life as an example to his children.  On his journey he is trying to live out the best possible story he can.

You can follow Nick on Twitter @nmaestas or check him out on his blog Coming Home – http://nmaestas.wordpress.com/

 

About Chris Goforth

West Coast Hipster Ninja husband and Papa- allowing Jesus to impact every aspect of my life while raising 6 kids, taking photos, being outdoors & playing Settles of Catan. View all posts by Chris Goforth

3 responses to “Guest Post Tuesday – Nick Maestas

  • Cindy Holman

    Nick this is just beautiful! I am going to have to find that song now – the lyrics are great! Thanks!

    • nmaestas

      Thanks Cindy! It’s a beautiful song, but be careful. Blindside can be a bit loud and screamy if you’re not prepared for it 🙂 I love Blindside-they help me cope during tough times. I hope you enjoy them too!

      • Cindy Holman

        I think I’m a little too “mature” of age for them – but LOVE the lyrics 🙂 I’m a girl of the 70’s and still prefer that music to anything today – but there are some groups like ColdPlay that I like – anything with acoustic piano and guitar. I’m afraid I’m a die hard Elton John and Billy Joel fan 🙂

Leave a Reply

