Proverbs Chapter 2


1-5 Good friend, take to heart what I’m telling you; collect my counsels and guard them with your life. Tune your ears to the world of Wisdom;  set your heart on a life of Understanding. That’s right—if you make Insight your priority, and won’t take no for an answer,

Searching for it like a prospector panning for gold, like an adventurer on a treasure hunt,
Believe me, before you know it Fear-of-God will be yours; you’ll have come upon the Knowledge of God.

6-8 And here’s why: God gives out Wisdom free, is plainspoken in Knowledge and Understanding.
He’s a rich mine of Common Sense for those who live well, a personal bodyguard to the candid and sincere.
He keeps his eye on all who live honestly, and pays special attention to his loyally committed ones.

9-15 So now you can pick out what’s true and fair,    find all the good trails! Lady Wisdom will be your close friend, and Brother Knowledge your pleasant companion. Good Sense will scout ahead for danger, Insight will keep an eye out for you. They’ll keep you from making wrong turns, or following the bad directions
Of those who are lost themselves and can’t tell a trail from a tumbleweed,
These losers who make a game of evil and throw parties to celebrate perversity,
Traveling paths that go nowhere, wandering in a maze of detours and dead ends.

16-19 Wise friends will rescue you from the Temptress— that smooth-talking Seductress
Who’s faithless to the husband she married years ago, never gave a second thought to her promises before God.
Her whole way of life is doomed; every step she takes brings her closer to hell. No one who joins her company ever comes back, ever sets foot on the path to real living.

20-22 So—join the company of good men and women, keep your feet on the tried-and-true paths. It’s the men who walk straight who will settle this land, the women with integrity who will last here. The corrupt will lose their lives; the dishonest will be gone for good.

When reading through The Message version of Proverbs 2 there were two lines of scripture stood out to me.

Wise friends will rescue you….

As I have weaved my way through depression, alcoholism and divorce I can’t tell you how many times my friends have rescued me. No, I wasn’t hanging from the ledge of a building or at the bottom of a well but my friends have rescued me. How did they rescue me?During challenging times they didn’t run away, they stood beside me while others did not, they listened to me when no one else would, they encouraged me during discouraging moments and they stood up for me when others were accusing me of horrible things.When friends have stepped up to rescue you during difficult times they create a special bond that allows them the opportunity to enter your life with with wise words. These friends who have been with you through hell and back have earned the opportunity to say, “I love you but I’m concerned about the choices you are making”. When I was smart enough to listen, I have been rescued when my friends were brave enough to share wise, loving words of concern about the things I was saying, doing or choosing.

….join the company of good men and women

How do you find a company of good friends who are voted most likely to rescue you and others? You must be intentional. Pray and then pray some more.

Before I met one of my closest friends he asked God to bring more men into his life. Soon after that we literally bumped into each other while he was reading a book in a local YMCA. Since then we have rescued each other more times than I can count and he has shared wise words that have challenged me.

People want a purpose and crave to be involved in things that are bigger than themselves. God has given me a heart for the lonely, marginalized, poor and homeless. The homeless ministry I’m involved in has connected me to many men and women who are looking for opportunities to love and serve the less fortunate.

How have friends rescued you?

How do you connect with others?

Mike Ellis can be found on Twitter @TheMikeEllis.  Check his blog Mike In Progress http://mikeismessedup.blogspot.com/

About Chris Goforth

West Coast Hipster Ninja husband and Papa- allowing Jesus to impact every aspect of my life while raising 6 kids, taking photos, being outdoors & playing Settles of Catan. View all posts by Chris Goforth

6 responses to “Proverbs Chapter 2

  • katdish

    Mike’s got a great big heart and a moving compassion for “the least of these”. I’m so glad I’ve connected with him and other great folks (like you) on twitter. Since you obviously have more influence on him than I do, I would strongly encourage you to convince him to change that ghetto avatar picture.

  • Cindy Holman

    Yes I have been rescued many times by friends. I was in a bad place of hurt and recent betrayal from a good friend and I reached out instead of withdrawing and found the council and wisdom of friends who will be with me the rest of my life. I appreciated the fact that they knew everything about me and still had my back and still loved me. Thanks for the great article.

  • Jon

    I am so thankful to the God for the people that He’s placed in my life. I select few of friends, but they’ve got me through some rough times in my life (one, especially), they encourage me, they pray with me, they call me out when it’s needed. Those are friends, and I’m thankful for them.

    I connect with people through everyday interaction, and lately, through social media! It’s been pretty awesome. 🙂

  • Matt

    Great post. It’s so easy to love people through the good times. It’s when life is messy, uncomfortable, and difficult that we show Christ’s true love to our friends.

  • Moe

    A Christian is never meant to be alone. Community is what drives people to overcome great obstacles. Remember Elijah and how he ran from Jezebel? What’s the first thing he did? He got rid of his servant. Huge mistake. After that we find him depressed and wanted to die. Friendships are critically important in this game called life.

    Great post.

  • Jason

    When I was at my lowest point last fall, I have to thank the online community of friends who stuck around because those around me locally I should have been able to count on wasn’t there. I can count on one hand with fingers left over the number of people who didn’t run away (except for the occasional “we’re praying for you” they would give to my life.)

    Honestly, I can’t say I’d be alive right now if it wasn’t for the few folks who didn’t scatter. It allowed me to see who really loved Jesus and who just plays Christian while people are watching.

    Great post, man.

Leave a Reply

