Proverbs for June


The book of Proverbs has truly become one of my favorite books of the Bible.  It is one I read over and over almost on a daily basis.

About 3 years ago, I received an e-mail from my friend John, asking if I would be interested in joining a group o of men to take part in a monthly study of the book of Proverbs.  After some thought I agreed to it and six guys who had never met before and only connection was John met and began what is continuing to happen today.  We agree that each month we would read through the book of Proverbs and then meet together, share food as well as what God had revealed to us through our monthly reading.

Each month John chose to read a different version ranging from NIV to the Message.  It was quite interesting to see how the different versions compared.  Each month all six of us were faithful to read and get together and share.  What a life-changing year that was for all of us.

At some point during that year, I also happened to read an article about a Dad who had two kids – one entering high school and one entering middle school and he made the decision to read the book of Proverbs with his kids as part of their family devotions.  Years later after his kids had graduated high school they shared with him how thankful they were for going through that all those years and how it had helped them make wiser choices than any of their friends or peers.  Reading that story truly inspired me and made me think about my own children and wanting to help them in making wiser choices.

After that year was over, I began incorporating reading a chapter of Proverbs each day with my six kids while we had breakfast and before I left for work.  This has continued to be a part of our morning routine.  We have had some great discussions as a result and on some days, I can see that it has made a difference in how my kids view the world and in some of the decisions, they make.

One of my own personal goals is to be an incredibly wise man when I am in my “golden years.”  I will not get there if I do not do it now.  Last month during a time of prayer, I felt God leading me to do something with this through my blog.  There are so many quality folks out there I have met through Twitter and who blog.  While I cannot keep up with all of what is written from time to time I am able to read some truly amazing posts and thought-provoking posts.  As I continued to process and think of how to make this work, I sent out e-mails to 30 different folks and asked them to contribute to this.  Each day for the month of June I am going to be posting a chapter that coincides with the day from these folks I have asked to contribute.

This will be something I would encourage you to come back daily and check and see what each writer has come up with.  I fully believe you will be challenged by what you read each day.

About Chris Goforth

West Coast Hipster Ninja husband and Papa- allowing Jesus to impact every aspect of my life while raising 6 kids, taking photos, being outdoors & playing Settles of Catan. View all posts by Chris Goforth

9 responses to “Proverbs for June

Leave a Reply

