Girls of Purpose – Jennifer A. Janes


My Prince Will Come

When I was growing up, my dad was my knight in shining armor. He modeled the way I should be treated, giving me my first flowers and jewelry, and taking me on my first “dates.”

As a little girl, I always wanted to be a princess. With my daddy, I felt like one. He was my prince, and I wanted to marry someone just like him when I grew up.

And then I grew up. I began to see flaws in my dad that I had never noticed before. I felt let down, even betrayed because my dad wasn’t the perfect person I had imagined him to be. He was . . . human, with his own struggles, failures, and shortcomings. I realized that I had let him become God to me.

Yes, my dad showed me a good example of how God relates to His children, but he is not God. I experienced a crisis of faith. I still believed in God and never doubted my salvation, but I had to separate my view of God from my dad’s humanness. I had to get back to what the Bible says about Who God is.

This was a difficult process. Inside I was still the little girl who wanted to be a princess. My dreams of Prince Charming riding in on a white horse to rescue me from a mundane existence had never really died. And I expected my dad, and then the man who would become my husband, to fulfill them.

The more I read and studied the Word, the more I realized that I can’t expect any person to meet all of my needs. Only God can provide for all of my needs and fulfill my deepest longings and desires. I knew this intellectually, but it wasn’t until I read Revelation 19 that it became real to my heart.

“Then I saw heaven opened, and a white horse was standing there. Its rider was named Faithful and True, for he judges fairly and wages a righteous war. His eyes were like flames of fire, and on his head were many crowns. A name was written on him that no one understood except himself. He wore a robe dipped in blood, and his title was the Word of God. . . . On his robe at his thigh was written this title: King of all kings and Lord of all lords.” (verses 11-13, 16 NLT)

Those verses spoke to my secret longings to be someone special. As a child of God, I’m a daughter of the King of Kings, a true princess. And at the end of time, the Prince of Peace will come to my rescue . . . on a white horse. All my dreams fulfilled in Him.

Jennifer is a wife of almost ten years and the mother of two daughters. She writes about faith, family, and homeschooling at JenniferA. Janes. You can also follow her on Twitter @jenniferajanes.

Photo credit: foshie

About Chris Goforth

West Coast Hipster Ninja husband and Papa- allowing Jesus to impact every aspect of my life while raising 6 kids, taking photos, being outdoors & playing Settles of Catan. View all posts by Chris Goforth

5 responses to “Girls of Purpose – Jennifer A. Janes

  • My Prince Will Come | Jennifer A. Janes

    […] post, “My Prince Will Come,” just went live! Click here to read […]

  • Cindy Holman

    Thanks so much for being a guest today and sharing your heart Jennifer! Every girl does seem to have a heart that waits for her prince. I suppose that is why every little girl that I teach loves the Taylor Swift song “Love Story” as their very favorite.

  • Moe

    Thank you for sharing such a beautiful story. I too try to be my daughter’s king by taking her on dates, treating her like a princess and loving her. But I never want to become her “God”. I hope she sees my failures and understand that I rely on God for my salvation and my forgiveness.

    • Jennifer

      You’re welcome, Moe! I think she will see that. The humility of your comment makes me think that you’ll find a way to communicate this to her long before she becomes an adult.

Leave a Reply

