Green Lantern Party


A couple of months ago I was asked by Fred who is @mochadad on Twitter if I would be interested in having a Green Lantern Party to celebrate the upcoming movie scheduled to release Friday, June 17, 2011.   I am huge Super Hero fan and now that my son is older he is right along there with me.  Any time a movie comes out we are there opening night.  As far as I am concerned it is a great way for my son and I to connect and there is always something from the movie that we can take away and turn into a conversation about life and making good choices. As a child growing up watching the Super Friends every Saturday morning, Green Lantern was always my favorite I an dreamed of a day I could get my parents to buy me a ring like his.  I never got one, but I have maintained my allegiance to Green Lantern.

I didn’t tell my son at first about this, I kept it a secret.  One day a large package arrived at our house.  I took it up to my room and kept it hidden until I was ready to surprise my son with what was going to happen.  Inside the contents of the box were some very cool items and I couldn’t wait for this party to happen.

When I set the date I finally told my son and he was crazy excited.  He also couldn’t wait.  We made invitations and he invited the some of the neighbor boys and I invited a friend of mine and his son.  Last Saturday we had the party and had a great turnout.

To set the mood we opted for a go Green theme.  In this day and age who wouldn’t want to go Green.  We went to the store and purchased only foods and beverages that were green.  What turned out was better than I imagined. As our guests arrived they delighted in seeing our go Green theme with the food.  They immediately reached for a ring and placed it on their finger and started chowing down.

Once everyone arrived they were each allowed to choose from the gift table.  Who doesn’t love getting free stuff at a party.  Each boy who came chose an action figure and a copy of the Secret Origins Comic Book.

Once they picked out their picks it was off to play before the movie started.  The best toy by far was the Colossal Cannon, which lights up with sounds and fires power discs across the room.  The boys had a great time chasing each other around and shooting the discs at one another.

The rest of our afternoon together was spent watching the movie Green Lantern First Flight, which has a PG-13 rating due to sequences of Sci-fi action.  There was a bit of language in it as well, but overall I felt like it was done well and I can’t wait to see how the up coming movie parallels this cartoon version.  My son and I enjoyed hosting this party, we had a great experience and urge all of you to check out the movie and the merchandise.  If your sons are into action figures they have some pretty cool ones.  My boy and I have been playing with them throughout the last week and re-enacting scenes from the movie we watched.

On Friday, June 17th  you will find my son and I in line ready to watch the live action version of one of my favorite Super Heroes – Green Lantern. In brightest day, in blackest night, no evil shall escape my sight. Let those who worship evil’s might, beware my power, Green Lantern’s light!”  


About Chris Goforth

West Coast Hipster Ninja husband and Papa- allowing Jesus to impact every aspect of my life while raising 6 kids, taking photos, being outdoors & playing Settles of Catan. View all posts by Chris Goforth

One response to “Green Lantern Party

Leave a Reply

