Real Authentic Men – Fairness


Fairness is defined as free from bias, dishonesty, or injustice

As I dad I really like this quote:
H. Jackson Brown Jr. – Live so that when your children think of fairness and integrity, they think of you.

Over the years, my kids have been known to throw out the phrase “That’s not fair.” To which my response is usually, “Well I love them more than you, so that’s why they get to do it and you don’t.” They know I am joking when I respond this way, but it does help them take a second look at the situation and their question. I have been able to teach my kids from a young age, life isn’t fair and because of sin entering the world, it will never be fair. Thankfully we all have a God who is gracious, loving and able to forgive us and give us a second chances.

In looking at life, it’s generally not about being fair by any means. Life throws curveballs at us all the time and we have to roll with the punches. Most folks want life to be fair and don’t understand why things aren’t fair. It’s a hard thing to understand and depending on your belief system you may never come to a good understanding of what fairness means. Even as adults there is something inside of us that really wants life to turn out fair. However I believe that if it was fair and we really got what we deserved, we would all be dead. How is that for fairness? Sin entered the world back in the Garden of Eden and it changed everything.  Thankfully Jesus came to change all of that.

I try to show fairness in my decisions. When it comes to really tough decisions, I will pray, seek wise counsel, think through situations and list out the pros and cons before making my decisions. I understand that I will never please everyone; I gave up trying long ago.  Using wisdom and making decisions I believe God has led me to allows me to be at peace with the situation. I live my life by the Golden Rule “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”

Here are examples of how I believe fairness can be demonstrated in all areas of life:

Practice the “Golden Rule”
Speak the truth in all that you do
Play by the same rules and make sure that everyone knows what those rules are
Think about how your actions will affect others.
Listen to people with an open mind
Don’t blame others for your mistakes
Don’t take advantage of other people
Don’t play favorites; make sure everyone is treated equal

As men and leaders we hold a significant amount of power in our hands. I am reminded of this statement from the movie Spiderman. “With great power comes great responsibility”. I hope that when decision times come, the choice that’s been made is a fair one.

When it comes to being fair, how would you rate yourself? Do you treat everyone in the same way? Do you hold the same standards to yourself as you do for others? What about in your decisions making?

About Chris Goforth

West Coast Hipster Ninja husband and Papa- allowing Jesus to impact every aspect of my life while raising 6 kids, taking photos, being outdoors & playing Settles of Catan. View all posts by Chris Goforth

4 responses to “Real Authentic Men – Fairness

  • Gary

    Integrity and fairness, eh? When Cookingham RTed you today I realized I somehow got unTweeted and unsubscribed somewhere along the line. The word “integrity” caught me, though. So, I’m back. I’ve been posting letters, eight of ’em, to my Gsons on simply INTEGRITY. Today is the last one, and I’m listing commenter contributions. I like your list. Can I pilfer it? It would, you see, fit item number one, “…unto others.” You may find something provocative there (www.gendads.com) in that I believe INTEGRITY to be the cornerstone of all other character traits, therefore it is one that The Father oversees and wishes to enable more than any other.

    • Goforth's Journal

      Thanks for checking me out and your comments. I really appreciate that. You can use whatever you want in my series. It’s all come from God and my experiences and what I want for my own sons. Thanks for stopping by.

  • Moe

    If we all lived and treated each other with fairness, the world would be a better place. Too bad that’s not the case.

    I try (I really do) to be fair with most folks. Just the other day however, I found that in my mind I wanted to insult someone who bumped me on the train. Clearly an ungodly thought. I’m glad I didn’t. It’s too easy to be unfair, but so hard to be a fair man with all people.

    • Goforth's Journal

      Moe I can tell by your authenticity that you strive to treat others fairly. I’ve seen it in your tweets and just in talking to you. We all can slip and fall, but it if it is at our core as it is yours than you live it out. Keep doing what your doing, you are doing great.

Leave a Reply

