The moments that take your breath away


Life is a journey, you can’t rush through it, if you do, you will miss so many valuable lessons.

I remember being young and wishing I was older so I could do this or that.  When I was in high school I wanted nothing more than to graduate and move on and get started with my life.  I wanted to be married and have a family.  That was over 20 years ago now.

Thankfully God has blessed me with the things I most wanted all those years ago.  Now a husband and father, I find it hard to believe I am the parent of a teenager.  It does seem like just yesterday I found out we were going to have her, then I held her in my arms, crying like a baby because I was so happy she was finally here.  Now today to look at her, and the rest of them, how can it be.

There are so many moments I have contemplated what life would be like without my children living here.  What life would be like for my wife and I without a houseful of children.  That thought even now is to much to bear.  The quietness is what will kill me.  I think about life and what I will be like as an old man.  My ultimate desire is and has been for a very long time to be a very wise old man.  I also realize if I don’t put into practice the things I need to I will never get to that place.

As I approach 40 I have learned a lot, especially in this last year.  I’ve had to take some deep hard looks at myself and see things I didn’t want to see.  On the other hand, it’s also allowed me to realize, as much as I have wanted to experience life and not take it for granted I have.  I don’t want to waste my life.  I want to be purposeful in the life of my wife and children as well as others.

The other morning I was on my way to work and I hear this song and it brought me to tears.  I identified with the words of this song.  There is so many things about my daily life that are miracles, so many things God has given me or allowed me to experience that I have taken for granted.

Life should be viewed in the larger picture.  Life should be lived to the fullest each day, for we don’t know if it will be our last.  Those little moments each day we see or experience should take our breath away.  We should see them as miraculous, for they will pass away and be gone in an instant.

So are you taking in those little moments each and every day that take your breath away?

Here’s the song by a very well known and long standing country singer – George Strait (I included a link to the video at the end)

He looks up from second base dad’s up in the stands
He saw the hit, the run, the slide there ain’t no bigger fan
In the parking lot after the game he said
“Dad I thought you had a plane to catch”
He smiled and said “Yeah son I did”

Chours
Life’s not the breaths you take
The breathing in and out
That gets you through the day
Ain’t what it’s all about
Ya just might miss the point
Try’n to win the race
Life’s not the breaths you take
But the moments that take your breath away

Fast forward fifteen years
And a thousand miles away
Boy’s built a life he’s got a wife
And a baby due today
He hears a voice saying “I made it son
He said “I told you dad you didn’t have to come”
He smiles and says ”Yeah I know you did”

Chours

Just like it took my breath when she was born
Just like it took my breath away when dad took his last that morn

Life’s not the breaths you take
The breathing in and out
That gets you through the day
Ain’t what it’s all about
Ya just might miss the point
If ya don’t slow down the pace
Life’s not the breaths you take
But the moments that take your breath away

About Chris Goforth

West Coast Hipster Ninja husband and Papa- allowing Jesus to impact every aspect of my life while raising 6 kids, taking photos, being outdoors & playing Settles of Catan. View all posts by Chris Goforth

One response to “The moments that take your breath away

Leave a Reply

